There are rules on how to behave in most situations. If you buy your tweeds in the same store you start to sorta get to know the person working there. If you go to the same grocery store every day, you sorta exchange a few words with the person working behind the till. The people working at the gym do say hi, it is part of their profession and I am sure that there are guidelines for this.

The gym seems to have other rules on who to say hi to, rules that I am not really sure of what they look like. I am sure they are all about power and hierarchy. And pecs. And sexuality. I have been going to the same gym for a year and a halv now, and I do not know these rules yet. Gym Buddy J knows no rules. The other week he said to me: I think we should become friends with Rude Muscle Mary and he walked up to him and asked about some machine that we could not figure out. I gues they are on hi-basis with each other now. I have to get back to you on this topic…

