Again, I looked at which words were used to find my blog. And apparently, someone googled “why do i enjoy guys seeing me naked in gym showers”. I googled the same ting (I did not find my blog) and found this thread on how NOT to get an erection at they gym. Trojan, who wrote the question tells us that he used to think about his girl friend in the shower and… well… read it all. No editing, the full truth on straight men’s strategies on how to avoid getting hard.

trojan

I work out at a gym and take a shower after my workout. If I haven’t had sex for a few days I tend to get an erection while taking a shower. I am thinking about my girlfriend at the time and with the testosteronepumping through my body I’m a lot excited. It is not a full erection but if another guy happened to look he could see that I am getting one. The showers are communial and there is nothing seperating the shower headsfrom the next. Is there anything I can do to keep from getting an erection while taking a shower at the gym and is there something I should say if a guy notices.

kaylamiller

I would completely just try not to think about your girl friend. Think about your work out, or work or something that isnt going to get you excited… I dont really know what you could say to a guy if he noticed you… it would be wierd… for you… I guess if you happen to see a guy come in turn and show off your butt I am sure you will probably kind of tense up and freak out so then you might lose your erection pretty quick.

Guest

Possibly take a moment to sit and relax after working out and before showering. Also, cold showers. COLD COLD showers.

Guest

i wouldn’t worry. Other guys will probably love seeing your erection. Enjoy it and let it get as hard as possible. You might want to share it too.

Guest

hah, dont worry man, noone will really care, it might make a few people a little awkward but lets be honest, every guy gets a random boner, most guys have certain places where for some reason they just randomly get a boner, or when they’re on a bus or car and it just happens, its normal, but unfortunately for you it happens in the gym, you can avoid it through cold showers or just keeping your mind occupied on non sexual things.

as for someone spotting your semi, noone will really care, might get a few jokes from it but you can jokingly explain. and if anyone thinks you’re gay, its not like it matters you’ve got a girlfriend and you know you’re straight so it shouldnt be a problem, relax man.

Guest wrote:

i think you are more right than wrong, if another guy is offended by your erection thats his problem, enjoythinking about your girlfriend and try not to be ashamed of the natural sexual response she brings out in you, if anyone asks just say you have a hot girl at home waiting for you, any guy that does not understand that deserves to be surrounded in a shower by hard d***s made hard by the thoughts of a lusty woman.. or man if that be the case no one ever called me homophobic and was telling the truth.

Guest

Um, I don’t think men should be ashamed of having erections. We get them, and not always when we want to get them; that’s how it goes. If you do get an erection, its probably not a good idea to make eye contact with anyone in the public shower. A straight guy not comfortable with the sight might make an embarrassing comment, or misinterpret your eye contact. A gay guy may also misinterpret your eye contact, although in a completely different (and if you’re straight, likely unwanted) way.

Handytim

cold shower, and or wanking beFORE the gym

lisnca

If You get an eraction in the public shower, I wouln’t hide, it, I would be proud of it, and I another guy looks at it, well he is jelous, I get errections in public showers to, I have a 9 inch penis, so it not hard to hide, so I just let it do it’s thing, another thing if the public showers have private restrooms, go and jack off, it’s will help alot. hope this helps, but don’t be ashamed of you gentials, if you got it show it.

ryecatcher

Wow, there are some good suggestions and some awful suggestions here. First off, ifyou get an erection, use cold water, think of something that engages the non sexual part of your brain (such as math, unattractive people, etc), and try and get out of there as soon as possible. I would not take the advice of “flaunting” your genitals. Humans are sexual creatures, being nude with attractive individuals of any gender can become a sexual experience. Instead of embracing the sexual feelings, I would seek to rise above them and to maintain a higher ethical standard. Be in control of your body instead of having your body be in control of you. You’ll be all the happier and stronger for it.

Guest

I am having this very problem myself. I never had to use a public shower with others till last summer when I started going to a local pool. I would skip the shower after swimming, but I need to wash off to get the chlorineoff my skin or my skin will start burning. I first start out showering with my shorts on and then remove and when I do, I feel the hard one coming on. It happens if alone or with others in the shower and I have tried cold water with no luck.

Guest

Have you tried masterbating before going swimming, or is they have private restroom, like a stool that is inclosed, try wanking off in there, but before you go out , make sure it’s down, lol. and in the shower you will even look bigger. Guys will enven you. Hope it helps.

lisnca

Have you tried leaving your short on, if you want to wash there, just suds up there, and rinse, or maybe pull them down just enough time to wash there and then pull them up, you might get some weird looks, like you are afraid to show, you see alot of men shower naked just to show off, and if you ever noticed in a public shower, like the YMCA, every guy, well almost, look down below at other men, I guess they are comparing or gay, but really don’t be afraid even if you get one, what are the othe guys going to do, maybe smile at you. If you get one, just don’t make eye contact with anyone, do your business in the shower and get out. Hope it helps.

Guest

Ha, thanks. There is no private place to release myself before showering or I would give this a try. I have tried this though before leaving the house but no luck so far. But even doing the dead at home, there is still a few hour window before its time to hit the showers. What was said about guys at the YMCA is true. The pool I go too is at a Y and you see guys showing off all the time. I had a guy in the showers watching me nonstop a month ago that would not stop looking at my d**k. I ended up leaving and giving him the look of WTF. I’m a younger person and most at my Y are older perverts. If I can sense those already in the showers are there just to check out other dudes, then I leave the shorts on now, I just look strange showering with them on, that’s all. : (

Guest

I am not sure the nature of your workout.  But, I would try doing at least 10 minutes of cardio work at the end of your workout; running, elliptical, stairs, stationary bike, etc.  This reduces your testosterone level that may be elevated after resistance training.

This is a good practice in general to keep your testosterone levels in check anyway.  I usually start and end each weight workout with 10 minutes of cardio.

Guest

Boners are common after exercise, Give yourself a few min’s to rest, Maybe a sauna or something….

