March 2012. A looker room. Two guys in skimpy American Apparel outfits sees a poster on the wall.

Kungsholmen guy 1: You see that girl? 

Kungsholmen guy 2: Yeah.

Kungsholmen guy 1: I pounded her last week. 

Kungsholmen guy 2: Pounded. 

Kungsholmen guy 1: Pounded her good. 

Back in the early 90s I did a poor attempt on leaving my 8th grade American preppy look by becoming a bit grunge using the layering of grunge but using Boomerang shirts and Marc O’Polo knits. But that is not the point. After that, I went brit pop all the way. Damon Albarn’s interpretation of the mod look was one of my main inspirations and you could get everything vintage for basically nothing. The 70s tees with the print semi-intact used ironically. It did not take long until you could get the look at H&M and JC. But for years, I failed to realize that the alternative brit pop guys I tried to flirt with was just regular mainstream guys in early 90s indie outfits. The insight came as a shock to me.

I erotisize hipsters. I wish I did not do so, but I do. I sure do. It has been years since hipsters bought their clothes at American Apparel. First, the regular mainstream guys started to wear the AA look on the streets and now… at the gym! Skimpy shorts, sox and a printed tank are now a household outfit for anyone to purchase. Add a beard and you are in. One would think that the hipster guys would move on and started to work out in Damir Doma or Rick Owens outfits but they have not. So it is very difficult to tell the groups apart, who is hipster art school hot gay guy and who is Johan from Kungsholmen?

Since you can not use your eyes anymore, you have to use your ears. A hipster would never use the word “pound”.

