The biggest challenge regarding cardio is not the actual workout; the pain, the suffering. Nor is it the super slow results. The biggest challenge is not to implode when people mistake going to the gym with a friend for a coffee break where you loudly chit-chat about things not relevant to other people. Let me share some quotes from this summer:

  • “Kinda weird with green baby poo.”
  • “Those cinnamon buns *generic coffe place*. A-maz-ing.”
  • “X is a slut, she totally checked my ex-boyfriend out.”
  • “Isn’t it funny that your poo is almost yellow after having the noro virus?”
  • “That sushi place. A-maz-ing.”
  • “A total slut. Hate her. I should call her. It has been a while.”
  • “Love your running tights, I should get the same pair.”
  • “Did I mention the amazing cinnamon buns?”
  • “Today, I did absolut NOTHING at work.”
  • “An absolut SLUT, I tell you.”

The more they sweat, the louder their voices get. And the more pissed I get. I usually try to increase the volume and shove the earplugs even further into my ears but it usually does not work. Their voices seems to piece through any podcast or music, even from a distance. In these cases, I actually choose mental health as in giving upp and just add extra time to the next workout session.

